Carrageenan is a vegan alternative to gelatine.
Carrageenan is derived from different kinds of (red) seaweed. The seaweed is harvested, washed, dried and ground into a powder.
Carrageenan contains a large percentage of cellulose. It is an excellent natural gelling agent, thickener and water-binding agent.
There are three different kinds of carrageenan (depending on what you need to use it for). Read more about that here.
The carrageenan I use is Carrageenan Kappa.
It's tasteless and can be used to bind a lot of foods. Use it to bind soups, sauces, or salad dressings. In homemade ice cream, it prevents crystal formation. Kappa-carrageenan is soluble in water. When you boil it, it will form a gel while it cools down. It is less suitable for freezing and defrosting again.
I use it for vegan cheeses.
Carrageenan Kappa gel strengthens in the presence of Calcium, making it perfect for use in milk and dairy based recipes. Its many uses include adding a dilution of Kappa to yoghurt or cheese to prevent separation. Soluble in hot water.
What to use it for?
- Create firm elastic Gels
- Create clear Gels and Glazes
- Create Milk based Gels
- Ideal for Panna Cottas
- A Vegetarian alternative to Gelatine
- Encase liquids